2016 in review // in which an egg looks back on her 2016 in terms of stats and makes some resolutions

gudetama

Ahhhh I’ve been so lazy lately. I’m taking at least a week to finish a book. I started watching Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru two days ago and I’m still on episode 2. I lazed about on my bed for almost four hours before deciding to get up and eat something. And I got a sudden spur of motivation when I went about tidying my room but now… I don’t wanna do anything but read fanfic or binge watch something.

Anyways, here’s the post that no one cares about but still seems essential to do―a 2016 wrap-up. Since I’m currently an egg, I’ll be using the survey that Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner has come up with. I also removed some questions coz I got lazy halfway through and my answers got progressively shorter haha… •-•


2016 Reading Stats

Number of books you read: 63
Number of re-reads: 1
Average rating: 3.3 stars

Genre you read the most from: Young Adult, definitely, but more specifically adventure or fantasy I think??? I don’t keep track of this.


Best in Books

  1. Best book you read in 2016?
    Without a doubt, The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. It was so bizarre from start to finish and definitely an unforgettable read. But maybe that’s because it’s been referenced so many times in Tokyo Ghoul (which was why I even read it or knew about it in the first place). But let’s say I didn’t read The Metamorphosis this year? What would be my top read then? I’d say Forever Blue by Abby Wilder. That plot twist broke me and I have a thing for tragic endings.

  2. Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t?
    Unhooked
    by Lisa Maxwell. The first retelling book I’ve read and it was rather disappointing. For one, the characterisations of Peter Pan and Captain Hook were predictable. An evil but charming Peter Pan and a hot, young Captain Hook… where have we seen that before I wonder? But what really threw me off the ship was the pacing. It start off slow, and kinda felt like the story was going nowhere, then suddenly we’re being by one plot development after another in the last 20%. I stopped caring a long time along, really, but somehow made it towards the end. Yay me.

  3. Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?
    …Nothing. I have a very small group of friends and none of them read. Plus, I don’t really talk to much people online so… I didn’t give any recommendations this year, and I probably never will.

  4. Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016?
    The Immortal Gene series by Jacinta Maree. The concept of recycled souls was what made in interested in it but there are other stuff I love as well, such as the action scenes and the characters.

  5. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
    In A Gilded Cage
    by Mia Kerick, a LGBT contemporary retelling of Rapunzel. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy it. This doesn’t mean I’m not going to read other LGBT books, but rather that books which are purely romance without some form of mystery or adventure aren’t for me.

  6. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
    I’m cheating a bit here but… gonna say the Dark Sky novellas by Amy Braun. I’m a person with a short attention span so I hardly ever read a book in a sitting or two. Or maybe I’ve yet to find a truly thrilling book.
  7. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?
    Er… probably Tokyo Ghoul Days. Not because it’s fantastic, but the manga is. And so because the manga constantly teases us before savagely ripping out our hearts, I shall occasionally turn to the light novels when I feel like reading about the characters happier moments.

  8. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?Soulless
    Just let me casually slide in a cover of Soulless and say how much I love books with great art and fonts. The cover for the second book was kinda disappointing though…
  9. Most memorable character of 2016?
    I fell in love with Lola from A Night Without Stars by Jillian Eaton from the very first page. She’s got spunk.
  10. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?
    I’m not very picky when it comes to the prose. As long as a book is understandable with not too long sentences and minimal fancy words, I’d continue to read it. But I guess I’ll with The Boy With Words by C.E. Wilson.
  11. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?
    Nothing. All the books I read this year were books I discovered this year. Maybe except The Metamorphorsis?? 

  12. Shortest & longest book you read in 2016?
    shortestlongest2016.PNG
  13. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
    Nope. Still sticking to my Percabeth and HideKane.

  14. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
    The Alchemists of Loom
    by Elise Kova. There is clear proof throughout the book that much thought has been put into the world-building of Loom and Nova, not just for the setting but the culture of the two species that reside in the world.

  15. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most FUN to read?
    A Fantastic Mess of Everything by Beck Medina. I actually… don’t remember much of what happened in it but I think it was a rather cute and fluffy read??

One extremely eventful thing that happened in 2016 was… this blog was born. I created this blog somewhere in June and played around with the customisations before posting my first review on the not-so-eventful day of 19 June 2016. Back then, the only reviews I had written were on Anime Amino* and I did them in a Plot-Characters-Art format, so that’s kinda what I did. Story-Writing-Description-Characters. I’m not sure if my reviews have improved in any way since then but I’m following a more lax format while writing them (aka put in any thoughts that comes to mind).

*one day I’m gonna dig out my Are You Alice? review and see whether I cringe at its noobness or ponder about how the hell I mananged to write it

And now it’s time for… more stats.

2016 Blogging Stats

Total number of views: 1,445
Total number of visitors: 698
Total number of likes: 239
Total number of comments: 33

WordPress followers: 53
Email followers: 6


Looking ahead

I’ve never been good at commiting to something but maybe I should start making some New Year resolutions.

  1. Buy Less, Read More

    When I first bought my bookshelf last year, the books I owned filled a little more than two rows (but I spread it out to three). Now, they’re well on their way to filling the fifth (and I’m desperately running out of space). Plus, out of the 30+ books I added to my shelf last year, I’ve only read a meagre number of 3 or 4. So this year, I’m gonna buy lesser books (or none at all… if possible), and clear my TBR. Also, I shall not go to the library till I clear up this TBR.

  2. Read Recreationally

    This is kinda connected to the above resolution. Due to the blog tours I signed up for and review copies I requested, I had little time to read the physical books on my shelf. Plus, the pressure of deadlines and reviews was really taxing so after March 2017, I’m gonna read at my own pace. I’ll decide for myself whether I want to do a review or not.

  3. Tone Down On The Reviews

    This will definitely be easy, considering that I’m usually feeling lazy to write a review. But there’s a second part to this resolution, and that is I want to increase the number of discussion posts. I actually… don’t have much inspiration for one but I’ll try to do more TTT and T5W.

  4. Spend More Time With The Pen, Not The Keyboard

    All my resolutions just lead to one thing: focusing more on my studies. A book buying ban so that I go to the bookstore less often and spend lesser time having a dilemma over what book I should buy. Reading only in my free time and not wasting hours at my computer trying to squeeze out a review. This ultimately means that I’ll be posting lesser. Maybe once or twice a week, depending on my mood.


Even though barely anyone reads these kind of posts, it just somehow feels good to write them like hey look, I did something. But it feels empty sometimes. Am I really going to do any of those resolutions I mentioned above?

Leave a Reply

