my 2016 Christmas wish list that will probably go unread and forgotten by all

As you can see, I may have a slight obsession with Kuroko no Basuke at the moment…


Oh man, it’s been a while since I last did a post that isn’t a review or a monthly wrap-up I have no idea where to start.

Anyways, Christmas is just around the corner! And with that comes Santa with his reindeers, flying sleigh, and let’s not forget, presents!!! Well, unless you’re the one giving, then that’s not very fun is it?

I always give out presents with the knowledge that there’s a high chance that the person receiving it will like it because I personally know the feeling of getting a disappointing present. Year after year, I have recieved things like clothes, bags, a mirror, and even a makeup kit (which is… somewhere in my room… collecting dust), but I rarely receive something that I can say that I’m happy with from someone who is not my friend*.

*which is kinda sad tbh, when your friends know you better than your family members. like my mom still thinks that I’m obsessed with Harry Potter when all I did was watch the movie and was exicited to go to the exhibition…

In all honesty, I feel that I’m not a hard person to please. I don’t demand a Nike shoe or a brand new $80 bag every two years. Just give me a simple badge or keychain from one of my fandoms and I will love you to death.

Anyways, I digress. Before I type any more, let my just present to you my 2016 Christmas book** wishlist.

**this is a book blog after all so gotta make this book-related


English books

Let’s start off with the most obvious: English books. Why is the “English” neccessary? Well, I’ll be bringing up light novels later so I wanted to have some clear classification instead of simply generically calling everything “books”.

I don’t go chasing after all those newly released books. I leave a bookstore with either a discounted book or a book I really, really want. So I don’t have a long list of books I want. In fact, if one asked me what book I would want as a present, I would probably tell the person to go to the fiction section and pick any book that he/she thinks seem interesting and does not involve intergalactic space travel or much romance. But… that’s too vague, isn’t it?

So here’s a list:

  1. Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor (The Gods of Asgard #2) by Rick Riordan
    I don’t like this series tbh. It’s not because it’s based off Norse gods but Magnus sounds a lot like Percy. But I’ll continue reading it… just out of neccessity of finishing the series. Also, preferably in the US hardcover.
  2. Nevermor (Nevermor #1) by Lani Lenore
    Apparently it’s a dark Peter Pan retelling. How could I resist??
  3. Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman
  4. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston
  5. Max by Sarah Cohen-Scali
  6. A Tale Dark & Grimm (A Tale Dark & Grimm #1) by Adam Gidwitz
  7. We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
  8. This Is Our Story by Ashley Elston
  9. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab
  10. Dark Matter by Blake Couch

Light novels

I only read light novels from three series tbh―Pandora Hearts, Tokyo Ghoul and Kuroko no Basuke―and since these three series started off as mangas, the light novels are more of a compilation of stories that follow no chronological order and contribute more to the characters and their relationships rather than the manga plot. Plus, they’re usually much lighter and fluffier than the manga~

As of now, the only one that has an English translation and I have yet to buy is Pandora Hearts Caucus Race Volume 3. Then there’s Tokyo Ghoul: Void that’s coming out in January 2017 and Tokyo Ghoul: Past that comes out in April 2017!! I really wouldn’t mind a Durarara!! light novel either…


Manga

It’s considered a book… no?

While it’s nice to admire the covers once in a while or read the omakes and extra drawings, manga is something I can live without needing the paperback versions on my shelf. I’d rather buy the merchandise or light novels.

I still need to get those Are You Alice? volumes though… The Internet only has up till like Chapter 40 or 50 something…


chat-with-meWhat does your Christmas wish list look like this year? Or let’s chat about past Christmas experiences! What’s the most disappointing gift you’ve ever recieved?

2 thoughts on “my 2016 Christmas wish list that will probably go unread and forgotten by all

  1. Scythe! Ughhh I want it so badly. I read a little bit of it as a preview, and it only made me want to get into it more. I’ve read This Savage Song, and it’s fabulous. Victoria Schwab is incredible. Can’t wait for the second book T-T Ooh, and manga. It’s been a while since I met another huge anime fan in the bookish world 😀 Kuroko. Oh dear. I’ll probably have to go back through my Kuroko crack videos now. And I wouldn’t mind reading Durarara!! right now either. Sigh. Maybe now that it’s break I can let myself get back into it a bit 🙂 Hope you get your wish list!

    Eli @ The Silver Words

    Like

  2. Oh man your comments regarding those two books just make me wanna buy them even more but I’m trying to tone down on book buying this year bc I gotta clear up the unread ones on my shelf first (ok but I was at a bookstore just now and I was eyeing like three books THIS IS HARD). Anyways, regarding Christmas, already knew I wasn’t gonna get any books but I did receive some money which I spent on books (-: haha it’s always nice to meet another anime fan, and especially when you both have watched some mutual animes (‘mutual animes’… it sounds weird).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

