Blog Tour | Review ― Plastic Wings by C.T. Callahan

Hey there! How’s your day been?

It’s been an extremely eventful day for me. First on the list… I received my promotional exams results today and as expected, I’m retaining for a year. And since it wasn’t compulsory for me to attend the rest of the lectures for the year, I decided to make a trip down to Orchard Road, or more specifically, Kinokuniya, where I bought Tokyo Ghoul Days (I was tempted by Hide) and Teen Titans Vol. 1 (have I ever mentioned HOW MUCH I LOVE DAMIEN WAYNE???). Now that I’m in Orchard Road, I thought: hey, why don’t I visit that gorgeous looking library that I’ve known about for two years now?? So I did. And damn it was amazing. The air-con wasn’t the best but the shelves, man, the shelves. I walked out thirty minutes later, with my bag having put on some more weight and took a direct bus home. But wait, the story doesn’t end here. I saw how my wardrobe was sorely lacking in clothes I actually enjoy wearing, and so, using the upcoming New Zealand trip as a cover-up, I splurged almost S$200 on clothes.

Now then, let’s move on to the book review! But first, a warning…

!! potential spoilers ahead. read at your own risk !!


plastic-wings-2d-coverPlastic Wings
(The Evie Weiss Chronicles #1)
by C.T. Callahan

Genre: Young Adult, Apocalyptic, Paranormal
Publisher: Three Little Books Co.
Publication Date: 22 November 2016

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Summary:
When seven-year-old Evie Weiss discovers a strange, sickly boy in her otherwise familiar forest, she has no idea what it holds for her world. He is a dark angel, one of a race of humanoid beings that feed on humanity and tear Evie’s world down around her. Years later, as humanity mounts a counter-attack against the dark angels, Evie remembers the boy in the forest and finds herself torn between her loyalty to her own people and feelings of compassion for these strange creatures that first captivated her as a child. It is the quest of one girl to unite two worlds so separated by war, but how can she close the gap between two races so determined to hate each other?


my-thoughts-1Whenever I come across a book featuring dark angels, my mind immediately thinks of the negative stereotype I have assigned to this kind of books* ― an ordinary girl meets a tall, dark and handsome stranger who comes from a mysterious background; stranger either has a bad reputation as a rebel or is simply not interested in 99.9% of the world’s female population; surprise, surprise, girl and stranger gets together; romance ensues and the story becomes the secondary focus. But Plastic Wings had already shattered that stereotype with its summary. There is no hopeless romantic, no glorious quest to stop the dark angels, just a girl who is torn between her loyalty to the humans and her compassions towards the dark angels, just a girl who wants to end this war between humans and dark angels peacefully.

*not entirely true, I know, but when the most popular books featuring angels (of any kind) are stuff like Hush, Hush and Fallen, it kinda sticks

Evie doesn’t really fight on the front lines much. Whenever some of the guys leave the safe house they call ‘Paradise’ to capture some dark angels, she would rather stay behind. Partially because her older brother, Ian, wants to keep her out of danger, but also because she doesn’t agree with what they do with the captured dark angels, which is to find out their weaknesses by experimenting on them. Due to this, we don’t really get to see the full extent of the destruction the dark angels have caused to the world, other than the occasional character death. There was barely any apocalyptic feel, it just felt like the humans were blowing this ‘dark angel invasion’ out of proportion.

I wanted to stay alive, to be happy, but Ian wanted to win, and somehow,
in his world, there was no point in living if we couldn’t.

There is a wide range of characters, each with their own unique personality. Though they may not be likeable, we may not agree with their decision 90% of the time, but they certainly are realistic. They each have their flaws, even the dark angels, whom one may have thought to be beings of perfection. Plus with most of the characters being children or teenagers, seeing them all grow up so fast and not having a chance at a normal life really tugged at my heartstrings. However, this large age demographic sometimes led me to think that every single adult in the world was dead in the book. Honestly, who lets a nineteen-year-old become the leader of the survivors??

The relationships between characters played a huge role in shaping the characters and their decisions, especially the relationship between siblings, of which there is an abundance of in this book.

I could forgive his faults, pretend he didn’t snore or boss me around all the time because,
at the end of the day, we were always there for each other.

The world, though nothing breathtaking, is built in a way that is easy for readers to absorb. There is no info dump, but rather small trickles of information spread throughout the book. Even now, there is still much about the world that is waiting to be discovered.

Note: This book has teenage pregnancy but I felt that it was added in purposefully. Also has suicide and torture.

4-snowflakes


about-the-authorc-t-callahanC.T. Callahan is the author of young adult fantasy, sci-fi, and a weird assortment of short stories. Hailing from a mixed-racial background, she’s pledged her writing to contribute to the spread of diversity in fiction and the fight for equality. When away from reading and writing, you’ll most likely find her engaged in art or snuggling cute dogs. Learn more at CTCallahan.com.

Leave a Reply

