2-in-1 Book Review: The Boy With Words by C.E. Wilson // in which I try a new review format and changed my header font

This post has been sitting in my drafts section since Tuesday. I’ve already posted it on Goodreads but I continued to leave it in my drafts, collecting pixelated dust as I think about when I should post it. Friday? Saturday? In the morning or at night? Anyways, today I stopped procrastinating as I bring you glorious news, and that is in this post lays two book reviews. Regardless of whether you bother to read my posts or not, the lone fact that I post is already pretty wonderful as that is a sign that I still live (I’ve already died on bookstagram rip it).

I honestly struggled with writing these two reviews, more so for the second one. I wanted to make it as spoiler free as possible and the blurbs don’t really give me much to work on. They are vague, which is good when you’re reading the book for the first time, but not so much when you actually want to write a review without revealing anything spoiler-y.

On a side note: Maybe it’s just me but do not listen to music while reading. I had Lindsey Stirling on my playlist while reading The Boy With Words and gosh the feels OH THE FEELS. ALL THE EMOTIONS. I wouldn’t really recommend listening to music either. My Chemical Romance does not help at all. Just read in silence, unless you want to torture yourself. But then, maybe it’s just me ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

!! a relatively spoiler free review. read at your own risk !!


fefbde2c-a860-4200-a7ca-00963dbd59c7Five Seven Five
(The Boy With Words #1)
by C.E. Wilson

Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: 
Live and Love the Fantasy Publications
Publication Date: 
18 November 2015

Format: ebook
Pages: –

Links: Goodreads | Amazon

My Rating: 4 / 5

Summary:
Take only what can be used. Take only what won’t be missed. The Creators are watching all of us.

White Frost lives in a world cloaked in darkness and ignorance. While most people in her society are content to live in fearful peace, White’s cousin brings her words from the mysterious Unknown. Strange collections of written words that tease her that there may be more to the world than candlelight and dank hallways.

But when tragedy strikes, White can no longer rely on the words to give her solace. She must discover what lies beyond the only world she’s ever known… no matter the cost.

Eventually, White finds her way to the skies and there she discovers that the tantalizing clues of her words are only pale reflections of the massive and wondrous world above. Colors she never thought possible. Blinding light. And an impossible being who may or may not be the Creator of it all.

But this information comes at a price White Frost is not sure she can pay.

White’s hunger for knowledge proves to be her greatest strength and weakness as she strives to learn more. But as she learns, she has to wonder – is there such a thing as too much information? And what will happen as it brings her closer to a being who could destroy everything she’s ever known?

my-thoughts-6As with most books, I dived into Five Seven Five with little to zero idea about what the book is about (aka I didn’t bother reading the summary). I live by the logic that “since it’s on my to-read shelf, I must be somewhat interested in it, right?”

Symbolic

Take a moment and look at the cover. It isn’t exactly breathtaking, but it is symbolic. “It’s just a pair of hands holding onto a piece of paper. What does that even mean??” While it may not hold much meaning right now,  it will dawn on you once you have read the book. And there’s the summary, that manages to somewhat catch your attention without giving away any important details about the events in the book. I honestly thought that it was just going to be another post-apocalyptic book, with the underground society and the sheltered lives they live. Oh boy how wrong I was.

Curiosity kills the cat

Five Seven Five is told through White’s perspective, our headstrong, stubborn and often oblivious main female character. She has an insatiable hunger for knowledge about what lies outside her world (also called the Unknown), and sometimes this ends with her acting recklessly and getting into dangerous situations. There were often times where I got annoyed with her but I couldn’t bring myself to dislike her. The rationale behind her actions were all explained in full, the emotions and thoughts that spurred her to do such things properly conveyed, you just can’t help but empathise with her.

Pleasantly surprising

I honestly did not expect to enjoy this book this much. As the title, cover and blurb don’t really give away much about the book, you have the joy of slowly discovering the world White lives in from scratch and there was much room for surprises. Speaking of which, the world-building was simple but solid. They have their own way of life, culture, even their own way of naming people.


Five-Seven-Six-CoverFive Seven Six
(The Boy With Words #2)
by C.E. Wilson

Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: 
Live and Love the Fantasy Publications
Publication Date: 
26 April 2016

Format: ebook
Pages: –

Links: Goodreads | Amazon

My Rating: 3 / 5

Summary:
There was once only darkness in White Frost’s world. Now she has seen the light, and that is the problem. Attempting to juggle her comfortable, predictable life with the wonders and dangers of the Unknown is becoming more difficult with every day and soon White will have to make a permanent choice.

Can she settle down in her safe, familiar world of darkness or is the lure of an uncertain yet unlimited horizon too strong for her to ignore? Is it worth giving up everything to take a chance with the Boy with Words?

my-thoughts-6Five Seven Six picks up right after where Five Seven Five left off… which I shan’t say for the sake of keeping this review spoiler free.

Everything comes at a price

Now that White knows what the Unknown holds, she can’t stay away from it. But due to the mindset and prejudice of her people, she cannot live in both worlds ― she has to choose only one. In Five Seven Six, we see White having to make many decisions, often with a sacrifice, and just like in the previous book, I often did not agree with her choices. But in the end, it all worked out so I shan’t complain ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

New faces

There were several new additions to the character list and while they’re not the most likeable of characters, I felt that they were all essential to the book. Their interaction with White, or lack thereof, added a new side to White’s adventures in the Unknown by showing the dangers the Unknown holds.

Heart wrenching

Oh that last chapter. I just can’t- Like White please stop jumping to conclusions. Stop making choices that will emotionally torture you. Stop torturing the readers THANKS. Although I didn’t shed any tears at the ending, while reading it, I still felt a brief phantom pain in my heart. But here a reassurance: IT’S A HAPPY ENDING (oh shit is that a spoiler??).


chat-with-meWhat sort of summaries do you prefer ― vague ones or descriptive ones? Do you listen to music or songs while reading? And have you noticed that the font of the “my thoughts” header has changed?? Tell me your thoughts regarding it!

One thought on “2-in-1 Book Review: The Boy With Words by C.E. Wilson // in which I try a new review format and changed my header font

  1. I love the new review format! Very easy to read and quite straightforward while efficiently expressing your sentiments. I think your header is pretty cute, too.

    P.S. In one of my earlier blog posts, I mentioned my intention of visiting every blog that follows me and leaving a little comment love as a small expression of my gratitude. Having said that, I personally want to thank you for being a part of my readership. You are incredibly wonderful, and your support means more to me than you realize! 😊💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

