Books You Feel Differently About

Hey guys! Welcome to my first Top 5 Wednesday post! Today’s topic is “Books You Feel Differently About“. Basically, it’s about books that I feel differently about after I’ve had time to think about them or re-read them. This is a topic I find to be very true, especially ever since I started writing reviews. I tend to look back at some of my reviews after a few days or weeks, and sometimes I’ll wonder why I gave a book that rating.


  1. Animal Farm by George Orwell
    Animal Farm was the first book I read for Literature, and I thought it was the most boring thing ever. I found it a chore to get through one page, much less to the end of the book. But now, I would gladly read it a thousand times over. And honestly speaking… it isn’t that bad a book. Plus, I still remember the characters.

  2. Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth
    When I first read Divergent, I was in Secondary One. I thought it was amazing and went on to pick up Insurgent. I enjoyed that one as well then and got super hyped when I heard a movie was coming out. Then Allegiant came out. I bought it within a week of its release and immediately started reading it but I lost interest quickly. The switching of POVs really put me off and I heard a certain spoiler… Now, every time I look at them sitting on my shelf, I wonder to myself, “Why did I ever like them??
  3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
    My aunt introduced me to the Twilight movies. I didn’t just enjoy them, I loved them. The next time we went to the bookstore, I bought Twilight. When I read it then, I barely understood anything and I thought it was poetry. Now I think it’s just a bunch of fancy words strung together to look like poetry and I still don’t understand anything.
  4. The Liberty Box by C.A. Gray
    I’m not sure why but when I read this, I thought it was good. It bore some similarities to The Hunger Games but I didn’t really care then. I thought it was pretty darn original and the characters were developed amazingly. Now, it’s just… meh.
  5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
    Remember when everyone absolutely loved TFioS and thought it was one of the best romance novels out there? Many people still do but I just got swept along with the hype then. I picked it up, read it, didn’t cry, but I thought it was pretty good. I probably would have given it a 4 stars rating then. When I heard that a movie adaptation was in the making, I got exicited. But now I realise I didn’t actually enjoy the novel, I barely remember what happened in it, and I have yet to watch the movie.

This was fun but kinda exhausting 😅 Now time to get started on Biology homework (-:

2 thoughts on “Books You Feel Differently About

  1. Congrats on your first T5W! I knew someone else would put Twilight, too! I personally never ended up getting into Divergent. After the first three pages I thought to myself that it was one of the most poorly written things I’ve ever read. Hahaha. But that could have something to do with my aversion to YA.

    Like

  2. Totally agree with you on Twilight and TFiOS. So overhyped.
    About Animal Farm, I loved it since the beggining, and it’s probably the book that made me fall in love with Orwell. By the way, if you didn’t already, read 1984, it’s a masterpiece!

    Like

Leave a Reply

