July ’16 Haul + Wrap-up

Really cutting it close with this haul + wrap-up post. Almost wanted to procrastinate it till next week 😅


Since this month is part of a school term, all my book buying money has to come from my allowance. I gave myself a limit of two books per month, but this month has taught me something important: NEVER BUY BOOKS AT THE START OF THE MONTH. I literally went broke this month. Didn’t even have a single cent left. So now, I have learnt my lesson and I will put off the buying of books till the last week of each month. This I swear on the River Styx. In fact, I think I might go on a book buying ban next month. Maybe I’ll spend the money on props for my bookstagram or just simply save up the money for AFA 2016 or a huge book buying spree at the end of the year.

  1. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    I was at a local bookstore with the intention of renewing my membership card, but as usual my weird logic steps in and tells me that I should at least buy something if I’m gonna have to queue. So I gave myself a budget of $20 and spent an hour looking through the same few bookshelves. I had considered buying ACOMAF, The Selection, and even I Am Number Four but then the other books in the series were not of the same size and I really dislike it when my books are inconsistent 😒 So I ended up buying this. There were really mixed reviews on Goodreads so I thought I’d read it and judge for myself. Honestly… I haven’t even flipped through it… at all…
  2. The Last Star by Rick Yancey
    Confession time: I haven’t read The 5th Wave. So why on Earth did I buy this book? Well, there was a ‘EXCLUSIVE QUOTE CARD INSIDE’ so I thought “I’m gonna read this series some day, why not just buy this now since it costs the same as a version without the EXCLUSIVE QUOTE CARD.”

And there you have it, the story of how I spent close to S$40 this month on two books I don’t really have any intention of picking up within the year and almost went broke.

Oh, but wait, that’s not all of the books I’ve added to my shelf this month. Coz guess what? I won a Goodreads giveaway!! (Two actually, but only one of the books has arrived so far)

  1. Wishapick: Tickety Boo and the Black Trunk by M.M. Allen
    I wouldn’t really say I “won” this as there were four copies available and only four people entered, so by default, everyone’s a winner! But it’s a free book so who am I to complain? Plus it’s a signed copy and even came with a CD!

This month I pretty much went crazy with my book reading. For the first two weeks, I was reading a new book every three days that by the third week I kind of fell into a reading slump. So yes, another lesson learnt: CHILL.

  1. The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan ( 3.5 / 5 )
    I actually finished this book on 31 July, but I had already made the July wrap-up post and was lazy to add it in.
    You can read my review of it here.
  2. Tesla by Mark Lingane ( 3 / 5 )
    I had no real reason as to why I picked up this book, I just did. It’s a pretty long read, but it has its interesting parts. It’s still too long tho.
    You can read my review of it here.
  3. We Awaken by Calista Lynne ( 3.5 / 5 )
    My first NetGalley read! Requested this one as I wanted to explore the LGBTQ genre. It’s a short and easy read, but it feels lacking in some places and the insta-love…
    You can read my review of it here.
  4. Blood Moon by M.J. O’Shea ( 2 / 5 )
    I think I might have missed the sub-text that there was going to be some erotic moments in this book. Or do all supernatural romance books just naturally have erotic elements? Needless to say, I did not enjoy this book… at all. Still can’t believe I stayed up at night flipping through the book, hoping that it might just get better. Well, it didn’t.
    You can read my review of it here.
  5. There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane ( 3.5 / 5 )
    Post-apocalyptic books are one of my favourite genres, so I saw this on eBooks for Review, I just had to request it. It’s another short and enjoyable read. Honestly not memorable at all. If you asked me right now what happened in the book, I would be able to tell you a rough outline. But ask me about the characters and I would draw you a blank.
    You can read my review of it here.
  6. The Fourth Piece by E. Ardell ( 4.5 / 5 )
    I read this book on my computer so it took me more than three days but I enjoyed it (more than my other reads this month). I absolutely love the characters. It was super fun reading from each of the three brothers’ POVs and so beautifully written. I actually really can’t wait for the second installment in this series!
    You can read my review of it here.
  7. The Liberty Box and The Eden Conspiracy by C.A. Gray ( 4 /5 ; 4 / 5 )
    Honestly speaking, this is one of those books that will amaze you when you first read it but then you take a step back and think, and you realise that it wasn’t as amazing as it seemed. I’m not sure why I gave them such high ratings then. The story is good, solid world-building, but the characters were really boring at times, shallow even.
  8. Beyond by Maureen A. Miller ( 3 / 5 )
    I’m really overusing this phrase but I have to. This was another short and enjoyable read… that is if you count out the scientific errors. If you don’t really care about those then this book might not irk you as much as it did for me.
    You can read my review here.
  9. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan ( 4 / 5 )
    This month, I told myself I would start re-reading Rick Riordan’s books, starting with Percy Jackson and the Olympians. And so I did. On 18 July, I picked up The Lightning Thief. On 25 July, I finished it. It’s 31 July and I have yet to pick up Sea of Monsters.
  10. Before I Shatter by Mandy Peterson
    I received a free e-copy of this in exchange for an honest review. I had actually finished reading it and was about to start on writing my review when I was informed that there was an updated edition with some descriptions added in and corrected typos. I didn’t feel like reading the same book twice in a row so I’m putting this on hold for now… (I promise I will finish reading it by mid-August)

  11. After The Ending by Lindsey Pogue and Lindsey Fairleigh ( 1.5 / 5 )
    The blurb sounded nice, the cover is decent and the story just bores me to death. I try to have a policy that I’ll try my best to read every book till the end. But I just couldn’t do that for this one. There’s barely any action, or plot progression. The characters were shallow. And something about the way it was written just put me off. I couldn’t bring myself to finish it. DNF at 23%.
    You can read my review here.

Man, that was insane. I don’t know why I still continue to do those short captions below every book. It’s fun… but tiring.

Leave a Reply

