Book Review: The Liberty Box (The Liberty Box #1) by C.A. Gray

I have hit a new record. This time, I’ve managed to finish a book in just two days. Not sure if I should be proud of myself or berate myself for focusing more on reading books than my homework.

!! minor to major spoilers. read at your own risk !!


TheLibertyBox_highres

The Liberty Box
(The Liberty Box #1)
by C.A. Gray

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian
Publisher: 
Wanderlust Publishing
Publication Date: 
25 October 2015

Format: ebook
Pages: –

My Rating: 4 / 5

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Audible

Summary:
Kate Brandeis has it all: a famous reporter at the age of twenty-four, she’s the face of the Republic of the Americas. She has a loving fiancé and all the success she could wish for. But when she learns of the death of a long-forgotten friend, her investigations unravel her perfect memories, forcing her to face the fact that she’s been living a lie.

Jackson MacNamera, trained from a young age in the art of mind control, returns to the Republic for his mother’s funeral. Within a few hours of his arrival, authorities collect Jackson and take him by force to a room ironically called The Liberty Box, where he must choose between surrendering his thoughts to the new Republic, or fleeing for his freedom.

Kate, bereaved and confused, finds her way to a cave community of refugees, where Jackson seems to offer her an escape from her grief. The two forge an uneasy bond, and in the process Jackson learns that Kate has some insight which may help the hunters in their attempt to free other citizens from the tyranny of the Potentate. Against the expressed wishes of the Council, the hunters plot a series of daring raids, attempting to prove that not only is freedom possible, but that the citizens are not too far gone to desire it. But with the odds so stacked against them, can the refugees succeed in their rescue missions right under the Potentate’s nose?


my-thoughts-1

Let’s say, I’m at a bookstore searching for a new book to buy and the gorgeous cover of The Liberty Box attracted me to pick it up, I honestly would have put down the book down the moment I scanned through the blurb. Whenever I see a book blurb introducing a female and male character and something along the lines of “girl meets boy and finds solace in him”, I immediately shun away from the book, assuming that there’s romance in it (i.e.: some kissing, hugging and lots of blushing).

Thankfully, The Liberty Box is nothing like that.

If I had to compare The Liberty Box to another YA Dystopian series, it would probably be The Hunger Games.

  1. Manipulative, tyrannical ruler who will not hesitate to cut down those who oppose him
  2. The leader who appears to be fighting for freedom but also has a bit too much power and sometimes abuses it
  3. A rebellion

Despite all these similarities, The Liberty Box is not just some recycled piece of writing based on The Hunger GamesThe Liberty Box is a fast-paced novel, with amazing world-building and little focus on romance. It starts off with a really good concept ― citizens being brainwashed by the government into obedience ― which was also well-explained (brain waves and electromagnetic waves and all those physics concepts). The world was extremely well-crafted and I found myself easily immersed in it, wanting to read on and find out more about it.

Kate’s character in this book could be summarised as “What Would Will Do?” and it annoyed me at times but she deviated from that towards the end of the novel. Though… with that revolution at the end, I’m interested to see how will her character develop further and how a certain someone will react to it.

On a side note, I felt a strange sense of deja vu the first time the ‘internal damage’ bullets were mentioned… I feel like I’ve seen them in another book or something…


s o l a c e
(noun) comfort or consolation in a time of great distress or sadness

I used the word ‘solace’ in my book review above and as I did, my mind was like “Nico found solace in Will Solace“. ( ._.) Someone get me a doctor please. A psychiatrist would be good.

Next review: The Eden Conspiracy (The Liberty Box #2) by C.A. Gray

Leave a Reply

