Book Review: The Fourth Piece (Order’s Last Play #1) by E. Ardell

Hi everyone! I’m back with another review~ I noticed that I’ve been reading quite a few standalones these days so I thought I’d try finding some new series’ to read, and the book I’m reviewing today is one of them. Also, I’m glad to say that this is a spoiler free review!! (at least I think it is 😂 it is pretty subjective)


the-fourth-piece-2d-cover

The Fourth Piece
(Order’s Last Play #1)
by E. Ardell

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher:
48fourteen

Publication Date:
8 July 2016
Format: ebook
Pages: –

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

My Rating: 4 / 5

Summary:
Admitting what you are will end everything you know. Embracing who you are will start a war…

Life is great when you’re good-looking and popular…so long as no one knows you’re a vulatto. Being half-alien gets you labeled “loser” quicker than being a full vader. So it’s a good thing Devon, Lyle, and Lawrence can easily pass for human—until the night of the party. Nothing kills a good time faster than three brothers sharing a psychic vision of a fourth brother who’s off-world and going to die unless they do something. But when your brother’s emergency happens off-planet, calling 9-1-1 really isn’t an option.

In their attempt to save a brother they barely remember, Devon, Lyle and Lawrence expose themselves to mortal danger and inherit a destiny that killed the last four guys cursed with it. In 2022, there are humans and aliens, heroes and monsters, choices and prophecies—and four brothers with the power to choose what’s left when the gods decide they’re through playing games.



my-thoughts-1

Discrimination against aliens? Inter-galactic war? Count me in.

I, personally, am not a big fan of first person POV, much less multiple first person POVs. Ever since reading Veronica Roth’s Allegiant, I have developed a strong aversion towards books told from multiple first person POV. So when I opened up this book and saw the huge name, written in caps, under the chapter number and the word “I”, I almost wanted to close the book and move on. But the description seemed promising so I decided to give it a chance. I am glad it did not disappoint.

The Fourth Piece revolves around three brothers ― Lyle, Devon, and Lawrence. They’re good-looking, popular, and most importantly, human (…or somewhat human). In a world where vulattos (half-aliens) are discriminated against, they would do anything to keep themselves out of trouble. That’s until they all received a vision from their fourth brother who might die if help is not sent, soon.

From the description, it’s pretty obvious that discrimination is gonna be a pretty huge theme in this book, and it was one of the main reasons that compelled me to read it. In this day and age, discrimination is pretty common, and no matter whom or what it is against, discrimination is all the same. It all stems from the fear of those who are ‘different’. In the novel, we see the three brothers having different reactions towards the issue of discrimination against vulattos. Laurence, the youngest, wants to do something to help them when he gets the chance to do so whereas his older brother, Devon, would prefer to stay by the sidelines and not get involved.

The writing style is extremely descriptive and absolutely amazing. Though there can be some weird descriptions such as:

I feel like I swallowed a load of wet bath towels. My stomach’s full of damp polyester. If I burp, fluff’ll come out.

However, the world-building in this one was a bit messy. Actually, I don’t think “messy” would be the correct word to describe it. It’s more like a whole load of information is being dumped on you in a single chapter. It’s literally mind blowing (from information overload).

The Fourth Piece is a great start to a potentially awesome series and I’ll be waiting (not so) patiently for the second book to come out.


Aaaaaaand cut! That’s it for this review~

I feel like I’m pretty hyper these days 😂

Have a great week y’all and I’ll see you in my next book review! Meanwhile, I’m just gonna sit here and wait for D.Gray-Man Hallow episode 2 and listen to more Panic! At The Disco (-:

Next review: The Liberty Box (The Liberty Box #1) by C.A. Gray

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fourth Piece (Order’s Last Play #1) by E. Ardell

Leave a Reply

