Movie Review: Me Before You

Guess who finally decided to watch Me Before You? That’s right. Yours truly. And holy shit it was beautiful. I’m a wreck right now so yeah just let me have a moment while I compose myself and attempt to write this review.


Banner_MeBeforeYou-660x350-1465527435

Me Before You

Adapted from: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Genres: Drama, Romance
Release Date: 3 June 2016 (USA)
Runtime: 110 minutes

My Rating: 4 / 5

Links: Official page // IMDb

Synopsis:
Young and quirky Louisa “Lou” Clark (Emilia Clarke) moves from one job to the next to help her family make ends meet. Her cheerful attitude is put to the test when she becomes a caregiver for Will Traynor (Sam Claflin), a wealthy young banker left paralyzed from an accident two years earlier. Will’s cynical outlook starts to change when Louisa shows him that life is worth living. As their bond deepens, their lives and hearts change in ways neither one could have imagined.

Review

When Will got hit by a motorcycle, my first thought was: shit this is gonna be another one of those cheesy, cliché romance movies, isn’t it?

I’ll admit it, I cried. Tears were rolling down my cheeks during the last 30 minutes of the movie. The last time I cried (this much) was during Rue’s death in The Hunger Games. And before that? Never. So Me Before You is officially the second movie to make me cry (this much). I’m not even crying over the fact that Will died or that he died so that Louisa can have a ‘better life’. I’m crying because Louisa has to live without Will for the rest of her life. For some reason, I always tear up at the “person losing his/her significant other” scenario.

However, the ending was probably the best part of the movie. The rest of the movie was decent. I smiled quite a lot throughout. The acting was awesome. But the way the scenes flowed annoyed me for some reason. I’m honestly not exactly sure why but it felt awkward and random to me. It’s like a bunch of scenes of Louisa and Will spending time together were strung together to form the movie. And the montagesUsually, I don’t have a problem with montages, only if there is one, but Me Before You has like what, three??

I have a feeling that I’m gonna enjoy the book more than the movie so you betcha I’m gonna buy it next month when I see it (bc I’m broke for the month ;-;).

Discussion

While writing the review, I chanced upon several anti-Me Before You articles talking about how the film encourages euthanasia and spreads the message that disabled people are better off dead. Oh yes, and there’s the classic argument of an able-bodied man playing a disabled character.

Personally, I don’t agree with any of that.

One thing we should all remember is that this is fiction, it’s a story about a character’s life. It’s not meant to represent a common majority, never was and it never pretended to do so. If the character acts that way, and it annoys you, so be it. Me Before You has a disabled person as one of the main characters, so is he naturally a representation of all disabled people?

Extra links:
1. Summer tearjerker ‘Me Before You’ is a different kind of love story – but you’ll still cry
2. 13 Things You Might Not Know About “Me Before You”, According To Writer Jojo Moyes (especially 1, 11 and 12)


Ugh why did I even bother to do a discussion part at all D: I almost wanted to remove it but then I spent so much time on it I couldn’t bear to do so, but I was so scared that I’ll get attacked for having such thoughts (if anyone even bothers commenting 😂). And it was so hard to writeeee. Originally, there was gonna be a section discussing euthanasia but I did some last-minute research and now I have no idea where to start so I just gave up.

I think I’m just gonna stick to reviews from now one (-: Discussions just aren’t my forte.

Next review: The Fourth Piece (Order’s Last Play #1) by E. Ardell

One thought on “Movie Review: Me Before You

  1. Hmm… I might give this one a try. I don’t know how I feel about this one because I’m not particularly a fan of super sad romantic movies. There’s a really good French film that this one seems to be kind of based off of called Les Intouchables. Totally recommend that one! Will see about this one cause I love both the actors in it. Glad you liked this one (sad though that it was a tear-jerker!)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

